Skip to content
US & UKGuide · Neobanks

Is a neobank a bank? Charters, partner banks and e-money explained

A neobank is a banking app, and it may or may not be a bank. Here are the three models behind the apps, what each means for protection, and how to check the one you use.

Quick answer

A neobank is a banking app, and it may or may not be a bank. In the US, many apps are fintechs whose deposits sit at an FDIC-insured partner bank, and the insurance covers that bank failing, not the app. In the UK, some apps are fully authorised banks with FSCS protection up to £120,000, while others are e-money institutions that must safeguard customer money but are not covered by the FSCS.

"Neobank" describes an app-first way of banking, not a legal status. Behind each app is one of three arrangements, and which one applies decides who holds the money and what protection it has. This guide explains the three models in the US and UK, how limits are counted when apps share a bank, and how to check any app.

Three models

ModelWho holds your moneyProtectionCommon in
The app is a bankThe app company itselfFDIC (US) or FSCS (UK)US and UK
Fintech with a partner bankA partner bankFDIC at the partner bankMostly US
E-money institutionThe firm, safeguardedSafeguarding, not FSCSUK

United States: when the app is a bank

Some well-known app-first accounts are run by banks. Ally Bank and Capital One, N.A. are both FDIC members, and their apps are a way into an account at the bank itself. If the bank failed, FDIC insurance would apply directly.

United States: fintechs and partner banks

Many US banking apps are technology companies that are not banks. Current's page says Current "is a financial technology company, not an FDIC-insured bank", and that banking services are provided by Choice Financial Group and/or Cross River Bank. The deposits sit at those banks.

The FDIC says its insurance covers "$250,000 per depositor, per FDIC-insured bank, for each account ownership category", and that it "doesn't cover default or bankruptcy of any non-FDIC-insured institution." The insurance protects customers if the partner bank fails, not if the app company does. It also "does not protect against losses due to theft or fraud" (FDIC).

If the app fails. The money is owed by the partner bank, so it has not disappeared, but getting it back depends on the bank and the app's records agreeing on who owns what. When those records are incomplete, access can be delayed even though the bank itself is sound.

Shared partner banks and the $250,000 limit

The FDIC adds together accounts in the same ownership category at the same bank: "All single accounts owned by the same person at the same bank are added together and insured up to $250,000" (FDIC). The brand on the app does not change that.

Example. A person holds $200,000 through one app and $100,000 through another, and both apps use the same partner bank. The two balances count as $300,000 at one bank in the single-account category, so $50,000 is above the limit.

United Kingdom: app banks

Several UK apps hold full banking licences. Their eligible deposits are protected by the FSCS up to £120,000 per person, per bank, for failures after 30 November 2025, and the FSCS says it will pay within seven working days of a failure.

AppLegal entityFCA firm reference
MonzoMonzo Bank Ltd730427
StarlingStarling Bank Ltd730166
KrooKroo Bank Ltd953772
ZopaZopa Bank Ltd800542
Chase UKJ.P. Morgan Europe Ltd124579

The limit is per authorised firm, so two brands that share one banking licence share one £120,000.

United Kingdom: e-money institutions

Other apps operate as electronic money institutions. They do not take deposits. Instead, the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 require them to safeguard customer funds, either by keeping them in a separate account at an authorised bank or the Bank of England, or by covering them with insurance or a comparable guarantee (regulation 20).

Safeguarding is meant to keep customer money apart from the firm's own if it fails, but it is not deposit insurance. As Mettle's fee document states, "FSCS protection does not apply to electronic money institutions."

Some providers offer both

The same brand can offer both models. Mettle's bank account is provided by NatWest and is FSCS-protected, while its e-money account is provided by PrePay Technologies and is not. Tide offers an account provided by ClearBank with FSCS protection, while older Tide accounts are e-money. The label on the specific account, not the brand, decides the protection.

What else differs day to day

The legal model decides protection; the fees decide what an account costs to use. A sample from our comparisons, read 29 October 2026:

AccountMarketOut-of-network ATMSpending abroadCash deposits
CurrentUS$2.503% (minimum $0.50)$3.50 per retail deposit
Ally SpendingUSUp to $10 refunded per cycleUp to 1%Free at Walmart
Capital One 360USNo Capital One feeNoneIn store at CVS and Walgreens
Monzo (free plan)UKFree up to £200 abroadNot stated£1 at PayPoint or Post Office
KrooUKNot statedNo FX feesNot stated

What to look for

  1. The legal name. Find it in the footer or the terms, not the brand.
  2. The register. In the US, the FDIC's BankFind Suite lists insured banks. In the UK, the FCA Register shows whether a firm is a bank or an e-money institution.
  3. The wording. "Member FDIC" or "FSCS-protected" signals a bank deposit. "Safeguarded" or "e-money" signals the e-money model. On a fintech, "Member FDIC" usually refers to the partner bank.
  4. Shared banks. If two apps use one partner bank, or two brands share one licence, the limit may apply once across both.
  5. Investment and savings add-ons. Treasury, money market and investment products inside an app are not deposits, and deposit protection does not cover them.

Comparing apps

Our US mobile banking comparison and UK comparison name the bank behind every account, and the everyday account fee calculator compares everyday costs.

Recap

  • Neobank describes an app-first way of banking, not a legal status; the legal model decides the protection.
  • A US fintech app is not insured itself; FDIC insurance applies at the partner bank and covers that bank failing.
  • Single accounts one person holds at the same bank are added together, even when they are opened through different apps.
  • Several UK app banks hold full banking licences and their deposits are FSCS-protected up to £120,000.
  • UK e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by law, but e-money is not FSCS-protected.
  • The legal name in the terms, checked on the FDIC or FCA register, settles which model applies.

Sources

Read on or before 4 November 2026. Rates and rules change; the source page is the current version.

  1. Current's page current.com
  2. FDIC fdic.gov
  3. FDIC fdic.gov
  4. FDIC fdic.gov
  5. FSCS fscs.org.uk
  6. regulation 20 legislation.gov.uk
  7. Mettle's fee document mettle.co.uk
  8. BankFind Suite banks.data.fdic.gov

Try the numbers

Everyday account fee calculator, with a page for each market in its own currency and at its own published prices.

The comparisons

Questions

Is my money safe in a neobank?

It depends on the model. Deposits at an FDIC-insured bank, or a UK bank covered by the FSCS, are protected up to the limit if that bank fails. A US fintech's partner bank is insured, but not the fintech itself. UK e-money is safeguarded but not FSCS-covered. The account terms say which model applies.

What happens if a fintech app shuts down?

The deposits are held at the partner bank, not by the app, so the bank still owes them. Access can be delayed while the app's records are matched to the bank's, and FDIC insurance does not cover the failure of a non-bank company. That is why the partner bank's name and the app's records both matter.

Are Monzo and Starling real banks?

Yes. Monzo Bank Ltd and Starling Bank Ltd are authorised UK banks, listed on the FCA register with firm reference numbers 730427 and 730166, and their eligible deposits are protected by the FSCS up to £120,000 per person. Kroo and Zopa are also authorised banks with the same FSCS protection.

What does 'Member FDIC' mean on a fintech app?

On a fintech app it usually refers to the partner bank, not the app. Current, for example, says it is a financial technology company, not an FDIC-insured bank, and that banking services are provided by Choice Financial Group and Cross River Bank, Members FDIC. The insurance follows the deposits to those banks.

Do I get the same protection on savings pots in an app?

If the pots are deposits at the same bank, they are added to the main account under the same limit. In the UK, savings in an app bank's own pots are FSCS-protected with the rest of the balance. Some apps offer savings through partner banks, where the partner's limit applies instead.

How do I check whether an app is a bank?

Find the legal name in the app's terms or website footer, then search for it. In the US, the FDIC's BankFind Suite lists insured banks. In the UK, the FCA Register shows whether a firm is a bank, an e-money institution or a payment institution, with its firm reference number.

From the sourceEvery price is read from the provider’s own page and dated. How we rank
Rank isn’t for saleProviders may pay to be evaluated, never to be placed. How we make money
Analysis, not adviceWe explain costs and trade-offs; the decision is yours. Disclaimer