Skip to content
USUS edition · prices in dollars

Best expense cards for small businesses in the US (2026)

Five expense card platforms compared on per-user pricing, foreign exchange fees and published cashback, for a five-person team.

Quick answer

Most US expense card platforms now have a free tier, so fees on foreign spending and cashback decide the cost. For five cardholders spending $5,000 a month with 10% abroad, Rho is the only one whose full cost we can calculate from published figures: $5 a month from its 1% FX fee. Mercury IO pays 1.5% cashback but does not publish its FX rate; Brex and Ramp publish neither.

Key points

  • Rho, Brex Essentials, Ramp Free and Mercury IO all charge $0 per user.
  • Rho publishes a 1% foreign currency conversion fee, so its full cost at our profile is $5 a month.
  • Mercury IO pays 1.5% cashback on all spend, worth $75 a month at $5,000, but its FX rate is not published.
  • Brex and Ramp do not state card rewards or FX fees on their pricing pages.
  • Ramp and Mercury IO are charge cards, paid in full; Mercury IO needs a Mercury bank account.
  • BILL Spend & Expense publishes no price, so it is listed but not ranked.

What you would pay

Set your own numbers. The list below is ranked with this same calculator at our reference profile: five cardholders spending $5,000 a month, 10% of it in other currencies.

Lowest cost for these inputs
$5.00 a month
Rho, Platform
  • Rho Platform$5.00
  • Mercury IO IO card−$75.00Foreign exchange fee not published on the page read
  • Brex Essentials$0.00Foreign exchange fee not published on the page read
  • Ramp Free$0.00Foreign exchange fee not published on the page read

Regular published prices only. Introductory offers and tax are left out. Figures are arithmetic on the provider’s own numbers, not a recommendation.

The list, in order

Order follows the published method on How we rank. Providers cannot pay for a position.

01

Rho

Corporate cards and expense software with no subscription or per-user fees. Rho publishes a 1% fee on foreign currency conversion.

Suits: companies that want free cards and a published FX fee. Watch for: the higher cashback rate is tied to Rho Platinum terms, so it is left out of the calculation.

Cards issued by Lead Bank and by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., Members FDIC. "Rho is a fintech company, not a bank."
At our reference profile (Platform)$5.00 a month
Subscription
$0
Per user
$0
FX conversion
1%
Cashback
Up to 2% (Platinum terms)
02

Mercury IO

A charge card for Mercury account holders with 1.5% cashback on all spend and no annual fee. Balances are paid in full each period.

Suits: Mercury customers who pay the card off in full. Watch for: an international transaction fee applies on non-USD spend, but the rate is not on the page.

Issued by Patriot Bank, N.A., Member FDIC. Needs a Mercury account (Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., Members FDIC).
At our reference profile (IO card)−$75.00 a monthForeign exchange fee not published on the page read
Card fee
$0
Cashback
1.5% on all spend
Repayment
Daily, then 30 days at $15K balance
FX fee
Rate not published
03

Brex

A free Essentials plan and a $12 per-user Premium plan for spend management, with custom pricing for Enterprise.

Suits: teams that want a free tier with room to grow. Watch for: card rewards and FX fees are not stated on the pricing page.

The pricing page names no card issuer. Check the card agreement before applying.
At our reference profile (Essentials)$0.00 a monthForeign exchange fee not published on the page read
Essentials
$0/user
Premium
$12/user/mo
Rewards
No rate stated
FX fee
Not stated
04

Ramp

A free plan for corporate charge cards and expense management, and a Plus plan at $15 per user a month plus a platform fee by team size.

Suits: companies that want a free corporate charge card. Watch for: rewards and FX fees are not stated on the pricing page, and Plus adds an unpublished platform fee.

Ramp Visa Corporate Card issued by Celtic Bank; other cards by Sutton Bank and Lead Bank, Members FDIC.
At our reference profile (Free)$0.00 a monthForeign exchange fee not published on the page read
Free plan
$0/user
Plus
$15/user + platform fee
Card type
Corporate charge card
FX fee
Not stated
—

BILL Spend & Expense

Expense software and the BILL Divvy Card. Pricing depends on business needs and user count and is not published on the product page.

Suits: businesses already paying bills through BILL. Watch for: no published price, so it cannot be ranked.

The BILL Divvy Card may be issued by one of Divvy Pay, LLC's bank partners.
Price
Not published
Rewards
No rate stated

Figures read from each provider’s own page on 29 October 2026. Net figures subtract published cashback. Reference profile: five cardholders spending $5,000 a month, 10% of it in other currencies. Unranked entries publish no price that fits it.

Expense cards give each employee a company card with limits, and the software collects receipts and syncs spending to your books. In the US, most platforms now offer a free tier, so the cost question moves to foreign-exchange fees and cashback, which many do not publish.

How the ranking works

We ranked platforms by net monthly cost for five cardholders spending $5,000 a month, 10% of it in other currencies. Net cost is subscription plus FX fees, minus cashback where it is published without conditions. Figures come from each provider's own page, read on 29 October 2026. A platform whose FX fee is not published ranks after every fully priced one. See how we rank.

PlatformPer userFX feeCashbackMonth at our profile
Rho$01%Conditional$5.00
Mercury IO$0Not published1.5%−$75.00 + FX
Brex Essentials$0Not publishedNot stated$0 + FX
Ramp Free$0Not publishedNot stated$0 + FX

A negative figure means published cashback exceeds the published fees.

The platforms

Rho's pricing page lists $0 subscription and per-user fees and a 1% foreign currency conversion fee. It mentions up to 2% cashback with Rho Platinum, subject to terms, which we leave out.

Mercury IO's page lists 1.5% cashback on all spend and no annual fee. It is a charge card, and it says an international transaction fee applies on non-USD spend without giving the rate.

Brex lists Essentials at $0 per user and Premium at $12. Ramp lists a free plan and Plus at $15 per user plus a platform fee by team size, per its pricing page. Neither page gives a rewards rate or FX fee.

BILL Spend & Expense prices by business needs and user count without a published figure, so it is listed but not ranked.

Who issues the cards

Rho's cards are issued by Lead Bank and Webster Bank; Mercury IO by Patriot Bank; Ramp's by Celtic Bank, Sutton Bank and Lead Bank. Brex's pricing page names no issuer. Our guide to charge, credit and prepaid expense cards explains why the card type matters.

The UK comparison covers pound pricing. The expense card cost calculator lets you change team size, spend and foreign share.

Keep reading

Questions

Are expense cards really free?

The base software often is. Rho, Brex Essentials, Ramp’s Free plan and Mercury IO all charge nothing per user on their pricing pages. Costs come from paid tiers, such as Ramp Plus at $15 per user plus a platform fee, and from fees on foreign spending. Interchange paid by merchants funds much of the free tier.

Why does Rho rank above Mercury IO when Mercury pays cashback?

Because Mercury IO’s pricing page says it charges an international transaction fee on non-USD spend but does not give the rate. We cannot calculate its full cost for a team that spends abroad, so it ranks after Rho, whose figures are complete. With no foreign spending, Mercury IO’s cashback would put it first.

What is the difference between a charge card and a credit card?

A charge card must be paid in full each period, so there is no interest on a carried balance. Mercury says IO balances must be paid off every pay period, and Ramp describes a corporate charge card. A credit card lets you carry a balance and pay interest. Our guide explains prepaid cards too.

Do I need a business bank account with these cards?

Mercury IO is only for Mercury account holders, and new customers start on daily repayment until their balances reach $15,000. Other platforms connect to an existing business bank account to repay the card. Our US business account comparison covers the accounts and which banks hold the money.

Is cashback counted in the calculator?

Yes, when the rate is published unconditionally. Mercury IO’s 1.5% is subtracted from its cost. Rho’s higher rate depends on its Platinum terms, so we leave it out, and Brex and Ramp publish no rate. The figure is net cost: fees minus published cashback, before any tax treatment.

From the sourceEvery price is read from the provider’s own page and dated. How we rank
Rank isn’t for saleProviders may pay to be evaluated, never to be placed. How we make money
Analysis, not adviceWe explain costs and trade-offs; the decision is yours. Disclaimer